Microlise gives Driver of the Year Award 2018 to Hovis driver Richard Barnes

Richard Barnes, Microlise driver of the year.

Microlise has announced that the winner of Driver of the Year 2018 has gone to Hovis driver Richard Barnes.

Barnes has took home the award after competing against more than 180,000 other UK drivers. He also won the medium distance category, featuring drivers who regularly undertake journeys between 31,000 – 60,000 miles per year.

Microlise’s executive director Bob Harbey said: “I would like to congratulate all the winning drivers who have demonstrated the highest levels of consistency, skill and professionalism over the last twelve months.

“Our industry is nothing without the efforts of drivers and we're pleased to be able to highlight their excellent work via the billions of miles of telematics data we capture every year."

The short distance category was won by Timothy Murphy of Menzies Distribution, with the long distance category won by Alan Bateman of CEVA.

Meanwhile Culina won the Driver Excellence award as a result of having the highest proportion of their drivers in the top 1,000 based on analysis of the telematics data.

The independent judging panel, which reviewed the entries for each of these categories, included Road Haulage Association chief executive Richard Burnett, Motor Transport editor Steve Hobson, freelance journalist Sharon Clancy and Microlise director of product Stephen Watson.

The full shortlist of 24 drivers, who enjoyed a Porsche track day courtesy of MAN Truck & Bus UK.

They are:

Short Distance
Winner: Timothy Murphy – Menzies Distribution
Runner up: Ian Hedley – Co-op
Runner up: Gary Padgett – DHL Next

Medium Distance
Winner: Richard Barnes – Hovis
Runner up: Brian Holmes – Warburtons
Runner up: John Patterson – Eddie Stobart

Long Distance
Winner: Alan Bateman – Ceva
Runner up: David Cashmore – Culina
Runner up: - Richard Porter – Culina

Driver Excellence – Sponsored by Road Haulage Association
Winner: Culina

Extra Mile – Sponsored by Bridgestone
Winner: Daryl Holness – BRS
Runner up: Stephen Amphlett – Frank Roberts
Runner up:  Richard Durrant- DHL

HGV Hero – Sponsored by Ford & Slater
Winner: Nick Mouyiassi- DHL Argos
Runner up: James Hilton – Bibby Distribution
Runner up: Gavin Riley – DHL Argos

Most Improved Driver of the Year – Sponsored by NFU Mutual
Winner: Gary Hollinrake – Frank Roberts
Runner up: Jamie Pladgeman – Samworth Brothers
Runner up: Anthony Roche – Royal Mail

Young Driver of the Year – Sponsored by Santander
Winner: Michael Coker – Ceva
Runner up: Jake Brotherhood – Samworth Brothers
Runner up: Aaron Haynes – Ryder

Lifetime Achievement – Sponsored by Apex
Winner: Mark Lyons – Frank Roberts
Runner up:  Angus Campbell – Travis Perkins
Runner up: Robert Hughes – Bibby Distribution


Comment as guest

Login  /  Register


No comments have been made yet.

Related content

What's the tax liability on my van?

Calculate the BIK tax on any van on sale today with our van tax calculator

How green is your van?

Check out the CO2 emissions for new vans with our CO2 calculator?