Microlise Driver of the Year Awards release UK truck driver shortlist

Microlise Transport Conference

The Microlise Driver of the Year Awards has released the UK truck driver shortlist ahead of the ceremony on May 15.

The winners of the Microlise Driver of the Year Awards, short, medium and long distance categories, are set to be revealed at an exclusive black-tie dinner, with the ultimate winner to be announced at The Microlise Transport Conference.

Microlise’s chief executive Nadeem Raza said: “Once again the Microlise Driver of the Year Awards have grown with the number of drivers included in the telematics based categories increasing substantially.

"The results again highlight the excellence found in the UK driving community.

“Having spoken to the judging panel, the difference between drivers’ performance data was marginal and all those shortlisted are of superb quality.

"Those shortlisted are ambassadors for the industry and should be rightly proud of their achievement.”

Driver of the year shortlist:

Short Distance
Ian Hedley – Co-op
Gary Padgett – DHL Next
Timothy Murphy – Menzies

Medium Distance
Richard Barnes – Hovis
Brian Holmes – Warburtons
John Patterson – Eddie Stobart

Long Distance
Alan Bateman – Ceva
David Cashmore – Culina
Richard Porter – Culina

Driver Excellence – sponsored by Road Haulage Association
No shortlist – award to be presented to operator with largest proportion of drivers in the top 1,000.

Extra Mile – sponsored by Bridgestone
Stephen Amphlett – Frank Roberts
Richard Durrant- DHL
Daryl Holness – BRS

HGV Hero – sponsored by Ford & Slater
James Hilton – Bibby Distribution
Gavin Riley – DHL Argos
Nick Mouyiassi- DHL Argos

Most Improved Driver of the Year – NFU Mutual
Gary Hollinrake – Frank Roberts
Jamie Pladgeman – Samworth Brothers
Anthony Roche – Royal Mail

Young Driver of the Year – Santander
Jake Brotherhood – Samworth Brothers
Michael Coker – Ceva
Aaron Haynes – Ryder

Lifetime Achievement – sponsored by Apex
Angus Campbell – Travis Perkins
Robert Hughes – Bibby Distribution
Mark Lyons – Frank Roberts

The independent judging panel includes Road Haulage Association chief executive Richard Burnett, Motor Transport editor Steve Hobson, freelance journalist Sharon Clancy and Microlise director of product Stephen Watson

Watson said: “Beyond the telematics categories, the nomination based awards also shone a light on exceptional performance in so many ways, from young drivers making their way in the industry and showing there are fantastic long-term career opportunities to be had, to those who have gone over and above the call the duty in the performance of their roles.

“Reading some of the entries and the inspirational stories involved was a great experience, and we are proud to run these awards to highlight those that carry out such a vital role in the industry.”

The short, medium and long award shortlists are based on data collected by Microlise telematics units throughout 2017.

The full shortlist of 24 drivers will enjoy a Porsche track day courtesy of MAN Truck & Bus UK, a supporter of the Microlise Driver of the Year Awards.

Registration for the Microlise Transport Conference, expecting to welcome 1,200 delegates when it takes place on the May 16 at The Ricoh Arena in Coventry, is open, with the event free to attend.

Pictured: Samworth Brothers’ Rafal Kolanko was named as the 2017 Microlise Driver of the Year at the Microlise Transport Conference at the Ricoh Arena in Birmingham.

Comment as guest

Login  /  Register


No comments have been made yet.

Related content

What's the tax liability on my van?

Calculate the BIK tax on any van on sale today with our van tax calculator

How green is your van?

Check out the CO2 emissions for new vans with our CO2 calculator?