FTA’s Van Excellence Awards recognises operators and drivers

FTA’s Van Excellence Awards winners

Fourteen of the UK’s finest van operators and drivers were recognised as the ‘best of the best’ at the FTA’s 2018 Van Excellence Honours.

The awards took place yesterday (February 7) at the Hyatt Regency Hotel in Birmingham, sponsored by Mercedes-Benz Vans.

The awards, also sponsored by AA, Bott, Brigade Electronics, Hertz, Lex Autolease and Quartix, recognise and reward the van operators and drivers who have made a significant contribution to the van industry.

Mark Cartwright, head of vans and light commercial vehicles at the Freight Transport Association (FTA), which administers the Van Excellence scheme, said: “With more than 4.3 million vans on Britain’s roads, and the numbers increasing every year, it is important to recognise and reward the operators and drivers leading the way in excellence.

“All the winners, and highly commended entrants, place safety and compliance at the heart of their operations; they set a high standard for others to follow and can now take their place as the ‘best of best’ in the business.

“There is so much more to van operation than simply vehicle maintenance – community spirit, commitment to employee welfare and technological innovation are all integral parts of their roles. 

“Van operators and drivers play an essential, and highly versatile, role in the UK economy, and it is high time their contributions are acknowledged.”

The full list of winners is as follows:

Helping the Community, sponsored by Quartix

Winner: Cadent Gas

Highly commended: Reflex Vehicle Hire

Keeping Your Show on the Road, sponsored by AA

Winner: James Hall Couriers

Highly commended: McGinley Support Services

Making a Difference, sponsored by Lex Autolease

Winner: Scottish Water

Putting Drivers First, sponsored by Brigade Electronics

Winner: Scottish Water

Highly commended: McGinley Support Services 

Using Technology for Good, sponsored by Hertz UK

Winner: The Clancy Group

Highly commended: McGinley Support Services 

Winning at Wellbeing, sponsored by Bott

Winner: Ame

Hero of the Year, sponsored by Mercedes-Benz Vans

Winner: John Barter – Ocado

Highly Commended: David Sturmey – Qi Van Systems

Highly Commended: Peter Williams – James Hall Couriers

Van Excellence Champion

Winner: Graham Davies – Electricity North West 

To view photos from the Van Excellence Awards, click here.

Comment as guest

Login  /  Register


No comments have been made yet.

Related content

What's the tax liability on my van?

Calculate the BIK tax on any van on sale today with our van tax calculator

How green is your van?

Check out the CO2 emissions for new vans with our CO2 calculator?