PSA’s electric LCVs win International Van of the Year 2021 award

Groupe PSA’s jointly developed electric vans – the Peugeot e-Expert, Citroën e-Dispatch and Vauxhall Vivaro-e – have won the International Van of the Year title for 2021.

The vans received the majority of first preference votes from the 24-member jury, with 131 points.

The two finalists from Mercedes-Benz; the eSprinter and the latest Vito were second and third respectively on 55 and 36 points.

Ford with its new Transit Active and Trail models was fourth.

Jarlath Sweeney, International Van of the Year jury chairman, said: “Congratulations to Group PSA on its stringent research, development and investment on producing an excellent range of electric powered vans, that exceed expectations and without compromise.”

Xavier Peugeot, senior vice-president of Groupe PSA's light commercial vehicles business unit, said that the manufacturer was very proud and to receive award.

“This award confirms the success of our compact van and the relevance of the electrification strategy we have designed for our LCV range – in which electrification means no compromises for our customers,” he said.

The International Van of the Year 2021 trophy, dedicated to Anders Karlsson, the Swedish jury member who died recently, will be presented at Groupe PSA’s headquarters in Paris, early in the New Year.

from Jury members said that the vans were “solidly built” with great “driveability” and except for the lesser noise-levels, there was not much separating the drive feeling from a diesel version.

“PSA has succeeded in bringing an e-van to the market which has all the qualities of an ICE-LCV but for the first time with a decent range distance,” the jury said.

“The new EV vans from PSA carry forward the concept of maximum integration between electric and internal combustion engine platforms. Their range is such that they could be attractive through different business as well as last mile delivery.”

A 24 strong judging panel consisting of commercial vehicle editors and trade journalists from across Europe and into Russia has elected the winner of IVOTY annually since 1992. The election and voting process is independently adjudicated by the RHA in the UK.

Comment as guest

Login  /  Register


No comments have been made yet.

Related content

What's the tax liability on my van?

Calculate the BIK tax on any van on sale today with our van tax calculator

How green is your van?

Check out the CO2 emissions for new vans with our CO2 calculator?