FTA Van Excellence celebrates the ‘best of the best’

FTA Van Excellence award winners with trophies

The best van operators and drivers were recognised by the Freight Transport Association (FTA) at its Van Excellence Awards yesterday (Tuesday, November 12).

The FTA’s 2019 Van Excellence Honours Lunch, which took place at the Hyatt Regency Hotel in Birmingham, celebrates the businesses and individuals who have made a significant contribution to the industry and are setting a high standard for others to follow. 

Kevin Green, director of marketing and communications at FTA, said: “Vans play a vital and varied role in the UK economy, from a means to deliver a consumer’s online shopping to transporting a tradesman’s tools. And the role of van drivers and operators is equally diverse: community consideration, employee welfare and use of technology all form part of their day-to-day responsibilities. Yet too often their contribution to society is undervalued; these awards are an opportunity to finally change that. 

“All the winners and highly commended entrants have proven they truly are the best of the best in their respective fields; I would like to extend my congratulations to them all.”

The awards were sponsored by Mercedes-Benz Vans, as well as the AA, Bott, Brigade Electronics, Hertz, Lex Autolease and Quartix.

Andy Eccles, head of fleet for Mercedes-Benz Vans UK, said: “We are very proud to champion the van community.

“Safety, compliance and innovation are important for all van owners and operators, irrespective of size, so we are pleased to help celebrate so many examples of best practice.”

Van Excellence was created in 2010 to promote the safe operation of vans, represent the interests of the sector, and celebrate operators demonstrating excellent standards.

Central to the scheme is the Van Excellence Code, a set of minimum best practice standards all van operators should aspire to achieve, covering safety, efficiency and sustainability.

The full list of winners is as follows:

Van Excellence Champion of the Year

Winner:  Rachel Bullen, fleet operations manager, Cadent Gas

Putting Drivers First

Winner: Auto Electrical Services (AES)
Highly commended: McGinley Support Services

Using Technology for Good

Winner: Cadent Gas
Highly commended: Auto Electrical Services (AES)

Keeping your Show on the Road

Winner: Murphy Plant
Highly Commended: Reflex Vehicle Hire

Making a Difference

Winner: Reflex Vehicle Hire

Helping the Community

Winner: McGinley Support Services
Highly Commended: Reflex Vehicle Hire

Winning at Wellbeing

Winner: Auto Electrical Services (AES)

Hero of the Year

Winner: Kevin Marriott, Sainsburys Supermarkets
Highly Commended: Andrew Robbins, BT Fleet

Comment as guest

Login  /  Register


No comments have been made yet.

Related content

What's the tax liability on my van?

Calculate the BIK tax on any van on sale today with our van tax calculator

How green is your van?

Check out the CO2 emissions for new vans with our CO2 calculator?