Microlise announces shortlist for driver of the year awards

Fleet news logo

Microlise has announced the shortlist for its driver of the year awards, which it says are designed to shine a light on the best-of-the-best from across the road transport industry.

With telematics-based categories containing an initial eligible pool of more than 252,000 drivers, and nomination-based categories receiving more entries than ever before, the shortlist has been compiled after weeks of data analysis, corroboration by employers and assessment by an independent judging panel.

It includes drivers from companies such as Argos, DHL, Maritime, Co-op, Hovis and Menzies across telematics-based distance categories, as well as young driver of the year, most improved driver of the year, extra mile, HGV hero and lifetime achievement awards.

Nadeem Raza, chief executive of Microlise, said: “The Microlise Driver of the Year Awards, which is now in its seventh year, continues to highlight the expertise and sheer dedication of drivers who travel the length and breadth of the UK and further afield.

“According to the judging panel, there is very little to separate our shortlisted drivers, who are true ambassadors of the industry.”

The short, medium and long distance awards draw data from Microlise telematics units collected throughout 2020 which is then assessed against criteria developed by the University of Nottingham’s Advanced Data Analysis Centre.

Employers submit entries for the additional categories, which the judging panel review.

The full shortlist of 26 drivers will again enjoy a Porsche track day when Covid-19 restrictions allow.

Category winners will be announced over the coming weeks.


Microlise Driver of the Year shortlist

Short Distance
Amy Kramer - DHL/Johnson Matthey
Daniel Neacsu - Wincanton
Anthony Bell - Argos
Medium Distance
Gary Dyson – Waitrose
Bryan Grant – Co-op
Zygmunt Lurzynski – Maritime
Long Distance
Stuart Moore – Gist
Jon Williams – Hovis
Andrew Horrocks - Menzies
Driver Excellence – No shortlist – award to be presented to operator with largest proportion of drivers in the top 1,000.
Extra Mile
Ron Teskowski – Asda
Paul Martin – BRS
Adrian Diemer – John Lewis Partnership
HGV Hero 
Ryan O’Donovan – BRS
Lee Clempson & Daryl Braddock – Sainsburys/Argos
Ryan Rosser – Waitrose
Paul Moorhouse – Travis Perkins
Most Improved Driver of the Year
Christopher Merrett – Co-op
Stephen Smith – Sainsburys/Argos
Luis Miguel Vicente - DPD
Young Driver of the Year
Nathan Giles – John Lewis Partnership
Agata Makowska – Gist
Callum Greenall - Miniclipper
Lifetime Achievement
Paul Guy – Hovis
Mervyn Cooke – Menzies
Stanley Bennion – Alliance Healthcare.

The latest Commercial Fleet news, insight and roadtests

In this issue

Cost of minerals vital for EV batteries soars as manufacturers scramble to secure supplies

London mayor urged to be flexible as ULEZ set to expand in August

How the cold impacts EVs

Road test: VW ID Buzz Cargo

New contract hire firm established to help fleet CV electrification

Towing: know the limitations

First drive: Daf XD

Read now

Comment as guest

Login  /  Register


No comments have been made yet.

Related content

What's the tax liability on my van?

Calculate the BIK tax on any van on sale today with our van tax calculator

How green is your van?

Check out the CO2 emissions for new vans with our CO2 calculator?