Microlise announces shortlist for 2020 HGV driver of the year awards

Microlise Driver of the Year

Telematics provider Microlise has announced the shortlist for its 2020 HGV driver of the year awards.

With telematics-based categories containing an initial eligible pool of more than 210,000 drivers, and nomination-based categories receiving record entries, the shortlist has been drawn up after weeks of data analysis, corroboration by employers and assessment by an independent judging panel.

The shortlist contains drivers from employers such as DHL, Culina, Hovis, Royal Mail, Waitrose and Yodel, across telematics-based distance categories, as well as young driver of the year, most improved driver of the year, extra mile, HGV Hero and lifetime achievement award.

Nadeem Raza, chief executive of Microlise, said: “The Microlise driver of the year awards, which is now in its sixth year, continues to highlight the expertise and sheer dedication of drivers who travel the length and breadth of the UK.

“According to the judging panel, there is little to separate our shortlisted drivers, who are true ambassadors for the industry.”

The full shortlist of 26 drivers will receive a Porsche track day which social distancing restrictions are relaxed and it is safe to do so.

Winners will be announced over the coming weeks.


Full shortlist

Short distance
Clifford Berry - Gist
Karl Vincent Dennis - Culina Logistics
Richard Smart - Ryder

Medium distance
Marcin Rafal Biront - DHL
Mark Gilbert - Royal Mail
Dzevad Grozdanic – Yodel

Long distance
Gillian Brooks - Gist
Iacob Vasile-Ionut - DHL M&S

Driver excellence

No shortlist - award to be presented to operator with largest proportion of drivers in the top 1,000.

Extra mile
Paul Galbraith - Waitrose
Andrzej Konieczny - Brit European
Roderick David Mitchell - Miniclipper Logistics

HGV Hero
Talide Balde -Hovis
John Bushby - Gist
Phil Hoskins - City Plumbing Supplies Holdings
Lee Mumford - Hovis
Tim Watson – Waitrose

Most improved driver of the year
Craig Abbotts - DPDgroup UK
Christopher Given - CM Downton
Dimka Ivanova - Boughey Distribution

Young driver of the year
Jamie Ian Lamb - Howdens Joinery
Jordan Rogers - Goldstar Heathrow
Matt Wright - Ryder

Lifetime achievement
Garry Bellamy - Forterra Building Products
David Holmes - Gist
Christopher Paul Spivey - Howden Joinery

Comment as guest

Login  /  Register


No comments have been made yet.

Related content

What's the tax liability on my van?

Calculate the BIK tax on any van on sale today with our van tax calculator

How green is your van?

Check out the CO2 emissions for new vans with our CO2 calculator?