Hoyer names ‘Driver of The Year’ winners

Fleet news logo

Three Hoyer Petrolog drivers have taken top honours in the Hoyer ‘Driver of The Year Awards, 2016’.

The three winning drivers were; James Givens (Pictured left; Petrolog fleet, Kingsbury), Paul Greenan (Esso contract, Stanlow) and Stephen Pick (Shell contract, Kingsbury).

The competition finalists were among more than 800 drivers in the UK.

Over a period of eight months, from May to December 2015, all Hoyer drivers competed to qualify for the final of the competition. Drivers with the highest safety and efficiency scores (taken from the vehicle’s On-Board Truck Computer), along with a faultless safety and service performance, represented their contract and terminal at the final.

The finals event held at Bruntingthorpe Airfield included; skid control, roll-over prevention, defect spotting, steering wheel control, slow speed manoeuvring and a written test.

The prize for the overall winner, James Givens, was presented with a trophy and a £2250 Red Letter Day prize vouchers with runners-up Paul Greenan and Stephen Pick each receiving trophies and £1000 and £500 respectively in Red Letter Day vouchers.

Mark Binns, managing director of Hoyer Petrolog UK (pictured right), said: “The Driver Of The Year competition was launched in 2015 in the UK and proved a popular innovation with drivers on different contracts and locations pitched against each other in demonstrating high levels of professionalism and expertise in their work.”

Comment as guest

Login  /  Register


No comments have been made yet.

What's the tax liability on my van?

Calculate the BIK tax on any van on sale today with our van tax calculator

How green is your van?

Check out the CO2 emissions for new vans with our CO2 calculator?