Shortlist for the Microlise Driver of the Year Awards revealed

Lorry driver in cab

The shortlist for the Microlise Driver of the Year Awards has been announced, highlighting the best-of-the-best from across the road transport industry.

With telematics-based categories containing an initial eligible pool of over 240,000 drivers, and nomination-based categories shining a spotlight on our heroes of the road, the shortlist has been drawn up after weeks of data analysis, corroboration by employers and assessment by an independent judging panel.

The shortlist contains drivers from major brands including Alliance Healthcare, Boughey Distribution, Coop Logistics, Ceva Logistics, EV Cargo, EV Downton, Gist, Great Bear/Culina, Hovis, John Lewis Partnership, Maritime, Waitrose and Ryder, across distance-based distance categories, as well as Young Driver of the Year, Most Improved Driver of the Year, Extra Mile, HGV Hero and Lifetime Achievement awards.

Chief Executive of Microlise, Nadeem Raza, said: “The Microlise Driver of the Year Awards, which is now in its eighth year, continues to highlight the dedication and expertise of drivers who travel the length and breadth of the UK, and further afield.

“According to the judging panel, there is very little to separate our shortlisted drivers, who are true ambassadors for the industry.”

Independent judges included managing director of the Road Haulage Association, Richard Smith, Traffic Commissioner for London & SE England, Sarah Bell, and head of talent and operations, Road to Logistics, Jennifer Swain.

Bell said: “Throughout the judging process we were able to delight in individuals' determination and tenacity.

“We were also humbled by accounts of those persevering and succeeding despite personal tragedy.  

“If we could have given them all an award, we would have. The awards shine a light on this brilliant industry, and I was honoured to be a part of it again.” 

The Short, Medium and Long-distance awards draw data from Microlise telematics units collected throughout 2021, which was then assessed against criteria developed by the University of Nottingham’s Advanced Data Analysis Centre.

Employers submit entries for the additional categories, which the judging panel review.

Shortlisted drivers will again enjoy a Porsche track day with overall winners being announced over the coming weeks.


Short Distance

Ian Bartlett - Waitrose

Stewart Cruz - Maritime Transport

Carl McCabe - Gist

Medium Distance

Brian James Grant - COOP Logistics

David Howe - Maritime Transport

Marek Mackiewicz - Great Bear/Culina

Long Distance

Alan Bateman - CEVA Logistics

Gordon Mann - Maritime Transport

Tajinderpal Singh Sangha - Alliance Healthcare

Driver Excellence – No shortlist – award to be presented to operator with largest proportion of drivers in the top 1,000.

Extra Mile

Craig Walker - Hovis Limited

Steven March - John Lewis Partnership

Amber Cameron - Travis Perkins

Driver Hero 

Gareth Bell - Boughey Distribution

Andrew James - John Lewis Partnership

Steve Lynch - EV Downton

Most Improved Driver of the Year

Julia Jones - John Lewis Partnership 

Sam Rawlings - Gist

Gordon White - Great Bear

Young Driver of the Year

Holly Holding - John Lewis Partnership 

Katie Mundell - WM Armstrong

Luke Tranter - EV Cargo

Lifetime Achievement

David Ellis - Boughey Distribution

James Elflain - Hovis

Anthony Kavanagh - Ryder

Comment as guest

Login  /  Register


No comments have been made yet.

What's the tax liability on my van?

Calculate the BIK tax on any van on sale today with our van tax calculator

How green is your van?

Check out the CO2 emissions for new vans with our CO2 calculator?