FTA Logistics Awards 2019 winners announced

FTA Logistics Awards

The FTA has held its third annual Logistics Awards, recognising the companies and individuals that have made “invaluable contributions” to the logistics and supply industry.

FTA’s Director of marketing and communications Kevin Green said: “FTA’s Logistics Awards have always celebrated success, innovation and dedication, and this year was no exception. A highly anticipated event that surpassed even the greatest of expectations, this year’s ceremony certainly lived up to its reputation as the logistics occasion of the year. A glittering ceremony, three course gourmet dinner, and performance by world-renowned comedian Ed Byrne ensured attendees were in high spirits throughout the evening.

“With the industry facing an era of unprecedented change, including the UK’s scheduled departure from the EU and rapidly advancing technologies, these awards have been the perfect opportunity to recognise the incredible work of the individuals and businesses committed to keeping Britain trading. I would like to personally congratulate all of the winners and each of the finalists, whose recognition is so richly deserved.”

With full multimodal representation, finalists working across all freight sectors were recognised for their “outstanding” commitment, knowledge and expertise. And, following a record number of entrants this year, 15 companies and individuals were celebrating after scooping awards during the event.

During a speech at FTA’s Logistics Awards 2019, Baroness Vere of Norbiton, Parliamentary Under Secretary of State, Department for Transport congratulated the logistics industry on its determination to protect the supply chain, despite difficult political and economic conditions.

FTA Logistics Awards winners:

Most Innovative Company of the Year:

Most Innovative Product of the Year: Wheely-Safe Ltd

Road Freight Operator of the Year: Collett & Sons Ltd

Rail Business of the Year: Tarmac and Railfreight Services in partnership

Air Business of the Year: Antonov Airlines

Water Business of the Year: PD Ports Group

Retail and Manufacturing Shipper of the Year: Radwell International Ltd.

Public Services Operator of the Year: GLH

Van Operator of the Year: JN Bentley

Logistics Partner of the Year: The Very Enterprising Community Interest Company

Diversity Champion of the Year: Amey Fleet Services

Rising Star of the Year: Sarah-Jayne Owen of CEVA Logistics

FTA Lifetime Achievement Award: Tommy Williams and John Williams from Maritime Transport


More than 400 members of the logistics industry attended the awards, including large retailers, distributors and industry operators. Individual awards were presented by the event sponsors.

The FTA says efficient logistics is vital to keep Britain trading, directly having an impact on more than seven million people employed in the making, selling and moving of goods.  With Brexit, new technology and other disruptive forces driving change in the way goods move across borders and through the supply chain, logistics has never been more important to UK plc.  It speaks to Government with one voice on behalf of the whole sector, with members from the road, rail, sea and air industries, as well as the buyers of freight services such as retailers and manufacturers.

Comment as guest

Login  /  Register


No comments have been made yet.

Related content

What's the tax liability on my van?

Calculate the BIK tax on any van on sale today with our van tax calculator

How green is your van?

Check out the CO2 emissions for new vans with our CO2 calculator?