Microlise releases Driver of the Year 2019 shortlist

Microlise Driver of the Year

Microlise has released the shortlist for its annual Driver of the Year awards, and will reveal the main winner during the Transport Conference on May 15.

The winners of the Short, Medium and Long distance categories, will be revealed at an exclusive black-tie dinner the previous evening (May 14).

Microlise has an eligible pool of over 210,000 drivers. The shortlist has been drawn up after weeks of data analysis, corroboration by employers and assessment by an independent judging panel who reviewed anonymous submissions. 

Winners of employer-nominated awards, including Young Driver of the Year, Most Improved Driver of the Year, Extra Mile, HGV Hero and Lifetime Achievement Award will also be announced on the May 14.

Microlise’s chief executive Nadeem Raza said: “The Microlise Driver of the Year Awards, which is now in its fifth year, continues to highlight the expertise and sheer dedication of drivers who travel the length and breadth of the UK. According to the judging panel, there is little to separate our shortlisted drivers, who are true ambassadors for the industry.”

Independent judges included chief executive of the Road Haulage Association, Richard Burnett, editor of Motor Transport, Steve Hobson, the recently-retired Traffic Commissioner for Scotland, Joan Aitken, NED and board advisor London Ambulance Service and Transport Focus, Theo De Pencer, national officer from Unite The Union, Matt Draper, and executive director of Microlise, Bob Harbey.

Aitken said: “The quality of the entries was outstanding and a true credit to all those nominated. All nominees could have been winners such was the standard of entrants.

"I have to congratulate all nominees for giving me and my fellow judges such a very difficult task. It was a privilege to take part in recognising the best HGV drivers who consistently perform their role with a degree of skill and customer focus that is truly inspirational.”

The full shortlist of 24 drivers will enjoy a Porsche track day courtesy of MAN Truck & Bus UK, a supporter of the Microlise Driver of the Year Awards.

The Microlise Transport Conference, a free to attend event, takes place on May 15 at The Ricoh Arena in Coventry and is expected to attract 1,200 transport and logistics professionals this year.

The shortlist includes:

Short Distance

Richard Smart – Ryder Ltd

Mark Field – Bibby Distribution

Anthony Birmingham – Hovis

Medium Distance

Jonathan Phillips – Ceva Logistics

Paul Dolman – DHL

Marcin Schmelter – Yodel

Long Distance

John Werrill – Waitrose

Mark Cowie – Wm Armstrong

Jeff Maycock – DHL

Driver Excellence – No shortlist – award to be presented to operator with largest proportion of drivers in the top 1,000.

Extra Mile

Annette Stagg – CM Downtown

Paul Meadows – CM Downtown

Karl Dennis – Culina

HGV Hero  

Dale Coppin – Bibby Distribution

Steven Ansell – Waitrose

Philip Starkie –  Bibby Distribution

Most Improved Driver of the Year

Scott Drake – DHL

Trevor Crouch – Ryder Ltd

Joanna Dorociak – Samworth Brothers Distribution

Young Driver of the Year

Kimberley Murrock – Hovis

Brandon Best – Jack Richards

Cameron Dean – CM Downton

Lifetime Achievement

Terrence James – Hovis

Kenny Wright – CM Downton

John Males – Bibby Distribution

Comment as guest

Login  /  Register


No comments have been made yet.

Related content

What's the tax liability on my van?

Calculate the BIK tax on any van on sale today with our van tax calculator

How green is your van?

Check out the CO2 emissions for new vans with our CO2 calculator?