2018 FTA everywoman in Transport & Logistics winners announced

FTA Everywoman in Transport and Logistics Awards 2018.

The FTA has announced the winners from its 2018 everywoman in Transport & Logistics awards, including the first Male Agent of Change winner.

The awards programme has been celebrating exceptional women transforming transport and logistics in the UK for 11 years.

Everywoman’s co-founder Maxine Benson MBE said: “This year’s winners represent those making a real difference to transport and logistics - whether it’s through the remarkable transformations they’ve made to the companies they work for, or the innovative businesses they have built from the ground-up.

"Not only are they making their own contributions to the industry, but they are mentoring others to do the same. As everywoman ambassadors, they will go on to inspire the next generation.”

A special Woman of the Year Award was presented to Anna Delvecchio, commercial account director at Amey RDG, who started her career journey as an engineering apprentice at just 15 years old and went on to become the commercial director of Amey RDG by the age of 30.

Delvecchio was singled out by the judges for her continuous support for women in transport and logistics.

This includes the “Women in Rail South” group she established to provide women with a local network to support their professional and personal growth through various events and workshops.

She also engages and attracts the next generation into the sector through school visits and work with organisations such as Young Rail Professionals and the National Skills Academy for Rail.


The category winners for the 2018 FTA everywoman in Transport & Logistics Awards are:

The Freight Award

  • Above & Beyond - Kate Turner, Head of Planning, DB Cargo UK, from Goole
  • Leader - Keely Priestman, managing director, Diamond Distribution Ltd, from London


The Passenger Award

  • Above & Beyond - Nikki Sohal, Heathrow Express control room competence manager, Heathrow Express, from London
  • Leader - Liz Chandler, director of corporate development, Merseytravel, from Liverpool City Region


The Infrastructure Award

  • Above & Beyond - Deborah Pye, director strategic innovation, Walmart, from Leeds
  • Leader - Kayleigh Wilson, transition manager, DHL Supply Chain, from London


The Supply Chain Award

  • Above & Beyond - June Jones, senior manager operating model, Asda, from Leeds
  • Leader - Faye Calland, national same day manager - Storage, Fashion & Solutions, TNT, from Coventry


The Warehousing Award

  • Above & Beyond - Clare Maclauchlan, national development manager, Co-op, from Newcastle upon Tyne
  • Leader - Sharon Hammond, senior director - Food North ALS, Asda, from Leeds


Industry Champion Award

  • Harriet Glen, principal transport planner, TfL, from London


Male Agent of Change Award (new for 2018)

  • Wayne Jay, national distribution director, Royal Mail, from Kidderminster


FTA’s chief executive officer David Wells said: “In such economically challenging times, it is vital that the sector continues to attract the very best talent, by celebrating successful individuals of all ages and showcasing aspirational role models. 

“Our finalists today certainly fit the bill.  Undoubtedly, the logistics workforce of tomorrow will be inspired by today’s winners, and FTA is delighted to celebrate their achievements, and reward those who have shown such exceptional dedication and ability.  Many congratulations to you all.”


Comment as guest

Login  /  Register


No comments have been made yet.

Related content

What's the tax liability on my van?

Calculate the BIK tax on any van on sale today with our van tax calculator

How green is your van?

Check out the CO2 emissions for new vans with our CO2 calculator?