Microlise Driver of the Year Awards shortlist announced

THGV driver, truck driver.

Microlise has revealed the shortlist for its Driver of the Year Awards for 2015.

In all, 15 HGV drivers from companies, including Agrii, Bidvest 3663, Birchall Foodservice, Brocklesby Logistics, Carlsberg, CEVA, Chamberlain Transport, Culina, Mitchell’s, Samworth Brothers, Synergy, and W M Armstrong have been named as finalists in the inaugural awards.

The list includes five drivers in each of three categories; short, medium and long distance, all of who will enjoy a Porsche track day courtesy of MAN Truck & Bus UK.

One driver will be named winner of each category, with an overall winner crowned Microlise Driver of the Year.

The awards will be presented at next week’s Microlise Conference held at the Ricoh Arena on May 20 after 90,000 drivers were initially assessed against a range of criteria, based on data collected by the Microlise telematics solution throughout 2014.

The University of Nottingham’s Advanced Data Analysis Centre analysed the data, which was anonymised, generating an initial shortlist of fifteen drivers in each category.

Questionnaires were then collected for each driver, to highlight reasons why a driver might be a deserving winner.

The Road Haulage Association (RHA) was provided with the data and questionnaires, both of which remained anonymous, and selected five drivers on each category shortlist.

“We congratulate the drivers who have been shortlisted for these prestigious awards,” said Richard Burnett, chief executive of the RHA. “Drivers play a crucial and often unrecognised role in the haulage industry and we fully support the Microlise Driver of the Year Awards which recognise the outstanding contribution made by drivers.

“These 15 drivers represent the best of the best. They have made it through from an initial pool of 90,000 drivers, so the achievement in being shortlisted is significant.”

The Microlise Transport Conference features speakers from a range of organisations, as well as an exhibition area of industry associations and suppliers.

The conference, which is chaired by industry lobbyist Quentin Willson, is expected to attract upwards of 1,000 delegates, making it the largest dedicated road transport conference ever held in the UK. The Microlise Driver of the Year Awards will be presented during the afternoon session.

“The response to the Microlise Driver of the Year Awards has been fantastic,” said Bob Harbey, executive director of Microlise.

“The companies we have contacted, following their drivers being shortlisted, have been excited and proud that their drivers are featured, and they recognise the size of the achievement in a driver making the short list when up against so many of their peers.”



Leave a comment for your chance to win £20 of John Lewis vouchers.

Every issue of Fleet News the editor picks his favourite comment from the past two weeks – get involved for your chance to appear in print and win!

Comment as guest

Login / Register


No comments have been made yet.

What's the tax liability on my van?

Calculate the BIK tax on any van on sale today with our van tax calculator

Track down the cheapest forecourts

Find the cheapest forecourts in your area with our van fuel price locator

How green is your van?

Check out the CO2 emissions for new vans with our CO2 calculator?